Tuesday, June 23, 2009

King of the Screwups review

What an interesting plot concept for a book! Rich, snobby kid gets kicked out of his house and has to live with his cross-dressing, gay Uncle in Upstate New York, what more intrigue could one ask for in a contemporary young adult novel? K.L. Going definitely knows the process of putting together an interesting plot topic.

Liam is the big-man-on-campus at his high school. He wears incredibly fashionable clothes, lives in a beautiful house, and always has a hot girlfriend. The one person he can't seem to please though, is his verbally abusive and emotionally neglectful father. Nothing Liam does lives up to his father's expectations and when he gets caught in a compromising position with a girl from his high school, his father finally kicks him out.

Liam ends up moving in with his "Aunt" Pete, his mother's gay, cross-dressing brother, that lives in a run-down trailer park in Upstate New York. Basically, Liam's worst nightmare. Once there, however, Liam decides that he no longer wants to be Mr. Popularity and attempts to turn himself into the world's biggest nerd, finally becoming the son his father always wanted.

With the help of Aunt Pete, Liam is able to truly come into his own and see who he really is...and what his father won't ever be.

A bit of strong language is including in the book and many homophobic slurs are used as well. Overall, I enjoyed the novel, though sometimes I felt that Liam's dialogue was incredibly scripted and he came off somewhat fake. Which is hard to describe, because often his character IS being fake on purpose.

Recommended for fans of K.L. Going and Barry Tyga.

King of the Screwups
K.L. Going
304 pages
Young Adult
Harcourt
9780152062583
April 2009

1 comment:

robin_titan said...

I REALLY want to read this one. Great review.