Tuesday, June 9, 2009

The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love review

What can I say? I'm such a sucker for a good book about crafty women. I'm a big fan of Debbie Macomber's "Blossom Street" series, I like the "Sisters Ink" series based on friends that scrapbook, and in the past year I've become a fan of the "Sweetgum Ladies" series by Beth Pattillo. In this series we meet a group of ladies that are not only crafty, taking on various knitting projects, but are also readers, forming a book AND knitting group. How fun is that?

In this second installment, The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, we return to the small town of Sweetgum, where everyone knows everyone and everyone's business. Our ladies, Eugenie, Hannah, Esther, and Camille are back and are now joined by Merry, the newest member of their group. We read about their amazing book choices, this time around they are all based around love stories, their knitting projects, and of course, their personal problems. From finances, babies, new loves, and old flames, each woman has a story to tell and her love of knitting and reading mixes in with the problem she is currently facing.

A very "down-home" read, this is a feel-good story filled with sweet women. I enjoyed the book as much as the first and look forward to seeing if Beth Pattillo brings out a third for us!

Recommended for fans of Debbie Macomber and Neta Jackson.

To learn more or to purchase, click on the book cover above to link to Amazon.

The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love
Beth Pattillo
368 pages
Adult Fiction
Waterbrook
9781400073955
June 2009

1 comment:

Tina's Blog said...

I loved the first book in this series. I can't wait to read the latest installment!