Thursday, April 29, 2010

For Keeps review

Jacket description (from ARC):
"For sixteen years, Josie Gardner and her mom, Kate, have been a team. It's been the Gardner Girls against the world, and that's how Josie likes it. Until one day, in the pet-food aisle of Shop-Co, they run into the parents of Paul Tucci, Kate's high school boyfriend-the father Josie has never met. If Mr. and Mrs. Tucci are back in town, it's only a matter of time before Paul shows up.

Suddenly, Josie's mature, capable mother regresses to the heartbroken teenager she was when Paul moved away. Meanwhile, Josie's on the verge of having her first real boyfriend, while her free-loving best friend Liv begins yet another no-strings-attached fling.

When Josie learns some surprising truths about Paul Tucci, she finds herself questioning what she's always believed about her parents-and herself."

The part about For Keeps that really kept me reading and enjoying the book was the realistic characters author Natasha Friend has created. Josie, along with all of the secondary characters (Liv, Kate, Paul, Matt), came across as real people, with completely believable dialogue. It felt honest and not forced. The kids acted like the teens that they were (imagine that), picking at each other, focusing on relationships of peers, being snarky and mean at times, and just being KIDS. I was very pleased by that.

The plot was good, nothing spectacular (and at times a tad outlandish), and really not a whole lot of "new," but that's ok. It's a well-written teen novel with engaging, realistic characters, and a little romance. Your teen girls will enjoy it and it's a nice choice for fans of Sarah Dessen, Elizabeth Scott, and the like.

Overall rating: 3 out of 5

For Keeps
Natasha Friend
272 pages
Young Adult
April 2010
Review copy received from publisher

To learn more or to purchase, click on the book cover above to link to Amazon. I am an Associate and will receive a small percentage of the purchase price. Thanks!

No comments: