Thursday, October 6, 2011

A Dog's Way Home review and a GIVEAWAY

11-year-old Abby and her dog, Tam, are best friends that do everything together. On a trip home from a competition with Tam, a car accident results in Abby being hospitalized and Tam's crate being thrown from their vehicle, landing somewhere in the woods by the side of the road. Abby is sick with worry and even more so when no one can find Tam.
Days turn into weeks and months and Abby doesn't give up hope. Tam, as determined as his person to make his way back home, fights against all odds to find Abby again. Their amazing tale is told from each perspective, showcasing a loyalty between species that any reader could appreciate. 

Pyron created a character in Abby that middle grade readers can easily relate to. She's strong, courageous, and determined, making her an excellent role model for readers. Tam, is incredibly brave, loyal, and beautifully done as his own character. 

A Dog's Way Home would make an excellent family read aloud, especially for fans of The Incredible Journey, Shiloh, or other books with strong dog characters. Highly recommended!

Alright, so you know you don't get a whole lot of giveaways here at the blog anymore, but I liked this book SO MUCH that when Virtual Author Book Tours offered up a copy for you guys, I definitely wanted to offer it. And it's super simple to enter, no crazy requirements.

Leave a comment telling me you want to enter and please make sure you leave your contact email. Giveaway is open until next Thursday October 13th at 11:59pm. One winner will be chosen to receive a paperback copy of A Dog's Way Home. GREAT for a gift for the holidays or to keep on your own shelves.

U.S. and Canada only please. Good luck!

Check back tomorrow...I'll have a guest post from author Bobbie Pyron!
A Dog's Way Home
Bobbie Pyron
336 pages
Middle Grade
Katherine Tegan Books
March 2011
Review copy provided by author


Sarah said...

I would like to enter this contest! I love books about dogs, and this sounds like it would be a good book to booktalk to share my love of dog related books. I've been booktalking When Life Gives You O.J., but this sounds like it has more dogs in it!

You can email me at the google account I sign in as!

ann said...

I love reading and I also love dogs so I would like to enter for this one

amhengst at verizon dot net

Jes said...

I would like to enter in this contest! This sounds like an excellent book to give Craig's daughter for Christmas...and we both know how difficult it can be to buy a book for her!!

Bridget R. Wilson said...

Gotta love a good dog book. Enter me please.


Heidi Grange said...

I would like to enter. I have some real dog lovers at my school. Thanks.

hg195 at yahoo dot com